Submissions for Headline’s Mental Health Media Awards 2023 open in two weeks.     

These awards recognise excellence in media coverage of mental health issues across every platform. It’s a unique opportunity for journalists, producers, editors, and a variety of content creators to be celebrated for achieving excellence in their approach to stories of mental ill health. 

Headline Programme Leader Áine O’Meara said: “The Mental Health Media Awards are the only accolade in Ireland dedicated to recognising excellence in mental health media. Previous winners are among the best storytellers, investigators and advocates in the country who champion under-reported issues and amplify the voice of lived experience. It is a privilege to offer this recognition to media professionals again this year.”

 With 10 categories, the awards highlight work from all platforms across local, national, and online media.

 The 10 award categories are:   

Mental Health Journalism | National Print & Online  

Mental Health Journalism | Local Print & Online   

Mental Health Broadcasting | Long Form   

Mental Health Broadcasting | Short Form   

Mental Health Content | Special Interest   

Mental Health Content | Digital  

Shine Audience Choice Award  

Special Recognition Award  

Student Journalist Award 

Mental Health Champion Headline is part of Shine, a national organisation providing information and support for people affected by mental health difficulties. 

Speaking ahead of the opening date for submissions, Shine CEO Nicola Byrne said: “We are extremely proud of the work Headline is doing as a partner with the media industry to ensure there is responsible reporting of mental health and suicide in Ireland today. It is important to recognise the real contribution media make not only to responsible reporting, but also to highlighting issues and bringing to light stories that need to be told around mental health and illness in Ireland.” 

Entrants can submit their work from September 1 to September 22, 2023 on the awards page of the website. 

Only work originally published or broadcast between 24 September 2022 and 22 September 2023 will be eligible for consideration.

Download .pdf